+255 756 312 202

What are the Big Five? Here we will show you + their unique facts

13 Feb

What are the Big Five? Here we will show you + their unique facts

“Travel is more than the seeing of sights;
it is a change that goes on, deep and permanent, in the ideas of the living.”

When American historian Miriam Beard wrote this, I think she referred to the most important thing about travel, that journeys are as much about inner transformation as they are about the space in which we travel. But these landscapes—their creatures, mountains, lakes, and plains—they all matter, too, as they are the very things that stir this change within us in unforeseen ways.

Enter The Big Five

Enter five of the most beautiful and elusive land mammals on Earth, animals found only in Africa and only in select regions of the continent. Enter five animals that will forever change your life when you look them in the eyes.
I know. “The Big Five” sounds like a board game, but its origins came from early African colonial hunting parties that traveled onto the African savannah in search of these trophy animals, which were the following: The African Elephant, Buffalo, Leopard, Rhino, Lion. The Big Five were sought after because they were elusive, few in number, and the most difficult to hunt afoot. Nowadays most of these Big Five are threatened or critically endangered as a result of poaching and human overreach. Here’s a look at these five creatures:


Leave a Reply: